• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Where to start?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to start?!

Hello all,

I've just discovered this site, wow what a fantastic place.! I’m very new to car detailing, to the extent that my Audi A5 is not in the best of conditions. I was looking at professional detailing (which can be very expensive, although I appreciate you are paying for experience and expertise) when I stumbled across clay bars, and found the Meguiar’s kit to be one of the best recommendations…and that led me here.

I want to get my car looking like it once did and then better – it is a 57 Audi A5, dark blue and when newly washed it can look quite nice…I’d like to get it looking REALLY nice!

So I have been reading guides, how to’s, threads and looking at the catalogues trying to work out how best to get going. I fully understand I am not an expert and likely won’t be one for a good while yet. However I’m happy to invest in the right products that are going to get my car back into the sort of condition it deserves.

There are a lot of contaminants that mainly stem from parking under trees at the train station (no more, I now park in the tree free area which is a longer walk but definitely worth it!). I also have a number of scratches down one side that come from brushing against trees/bushes in a tight local lane (again I now go a different route…shutting the stable door after…). There are also some small white dots that almost look like paint but are raised so you can feel them with a pass of your hand.

I know that I need to clay bar the car before doing anything more fancy, but currently my thought process is along making an investment in the following: