• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Issues with Ultimate Compound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Issues with Ultimate Compound

Hello everyone. I am new here and was hoping that someone could help me. I'm new to car detailing as well.

First off, my car is black. It has a perfect shine to it and is barely a year old. There was some minor stuff that I wanted to fix, so I used some ultimate compound and followed the instructions. Few days later when the car was in direct sunlight I could see that it kind of looked dull or hazy in those areas, and you could definitely see that I had rubbed those areas. You can pretty much only see it in direct sunlight though and in certain angles. I gave the car a good wash, didn't really help. I tried using more compound, didn't help. Then I tried waxing the effected areas. I can't remember the exact name of wax but it's Meguiars wax that is special made for black cars. It's not a spray, it's the one that comes with a rubbing pad. I did it in the garage and it was darkish. Not a lot of sun out today so hard to say but it seems like the dull/hazy is now gone completely.

I have two questions.

1. Is it normal that the area where UC has been used looks a little bit dull and hazy especially in direct sunlight, and wax has to be used after to get it to look really good again?

and

2. Is the waxing in this case only a temporary fix, and after few washes the areas that I treated with UC will look dull/hazy again?

I am a little upset since as stated this is a more or less new car. I felt uncomfortable doing it myself but was told that Meguiars is the good stuff and not to worry, still I get this result.