• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Synthetic sealant #21 to extend protection for paint?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Synthetic sealant #21 to extend protection for paint?

I have never used a sealant before, so perhaps this isn't what Synthetic sealant #21 is designed for. But I want to use it either as a replacement for my wax layer, or as a base for it (and then put wax on top of it), to extend the protection for a paint, so I don't have to wax so often.

Is this a proper use for #21 (see here: http://www.meguiarsdirect.com/produc...ealant-20-64oz )?Or is there another product that is better designed for this?

I don't have a machine, just applicator pads.

I am waxing every 4-6 weeks, and I'm getting to the point where I'm starting to dislike all the time it takes (after washing my two cars every weekend, then applying wax really makes for a long morning). FWIW, both cars are out in the sun 24/7.

I'd like to apply a sealant that would either last longer than the 4-6 weeks that my wax jobs are lasting, or at least, apply sealant, and then a wax on top of that.

Advice?

Re: Synthetic sealant #21 to extend protection for paint?

Originally posted by prr View Post
    I have never used a sealant before, so perhaps this isn't what Synthetic sealant #21 is designed for. But I want to use it either as a replacement for my wax layer, or as a base for it (and then put wax on top of it), to extend the protection for a paint, so I don't have to wax so often.

Is this a proper use for #21 (see here: http://www.meguiarsdirect.com/produc...ealant-20-64oz )?Or is there another product that is better designed for this?

I don't have a machine, just applicator pads.