• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the best choice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best choice?

I have recently purchased a 1964 1/2 mustang that has an amatuer paint job showing some swirl marks. This car is in show condition other than it needs to be properly cared for. I do not want to repaint it until after the car show season for the year but I am looking for a way to make this car look alot better. The paint job is a couple of years old but has sat in a garage while the previous owner was deployed in the Guard. If anyone can tell me what the best products and the best way to apply them I would be greatful. I am a beginner but I can get help if anything becomes too difficult I am looking for the best overall way no matter how difficult. Thank you.

One route would be to use a Porter-Cable polisher and some No. 9 swirl remover (tan bottle). Do not mess with a rotary buffer and more aggressive cutting compounds unless you have been trained how to use em'. You may also get satisfactory results by hand using the No 9 or some ColorX (black bottle). ScratchX will also help with light swirls but be ready for a tired arm. Glaze like No 7 (tan bottle) will help hide but not remove some swirls. Your best first try will probably be ColorX.
    It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to detail all of it.

Comment

Hi phipps1980, to MOL!

To care for any car, in any condition, the basic process is always the same. Meguiar's calls it the 5-Step Paint Care Cycle (click here for the full description) of washing, surface prep, polishing, protecting and maintaining.