• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DC 1-2-3 safe?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DC 1-2-3 safe?

Hello. I'm new to detailing. I was in Autozone the other day and decided to get car wax. I purchased DC 2 and DC 3 and applied it after washing the car. The car looks very clean and glossy but the surface feels like sand paper-- primarily the horizontal surfaces. I'm planning on getting some form of fine clay and DC 1 for this and then every month applying it in this order: wash, clay, DC 1, DC 2, DC 3 (2 coats). I'm applying it to a dark blue '95 Lincoln Towncar

The question I have is will I damage the paint gradually if I keep applying it this way?

That combo won't damage your paint but I think you will find that you won't need to clay that often. I clay when the paint surface feels a little rough, every 3-6 months on average. A lot depends on where you car has been and what contaminants get stuck to it.
    Jim
    My Gallery

Comment

Re: DC 1-2-3 safe?

Hi waxrtw,

Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

Originally posted by wax4tw
      Hello. I'm new to detailing. I was in Autozone the other day and decided to get car wax. I purchased DC 2 and DC 3 and applied it after washing the car. The car looks very clean and glossy but the surface feels like sand paper-- primarily the horizontal surfaces. I'm planning on getting some form of fine clay and DC 1 for this and then every month applying it in this order: wash, clay, DC 1, DC 2, DC 3 (2 coats). I'm applying it to a dark blue '95 Lincoln Towncar

The question I have is will I damage the paint gradually if I keep applying it this way?