• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Follow-up to #67 One-Step Compound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Follow-up to #67 One-Step Compound

I recently acquired a 1988 Boston Whaler 17-Super Sport Limited with moderate to heavy gel-coat oxidation. My plan of attack for the restoration project is, after washing, to apply #67 One-step Compound (I have never used this product before), then #45 Polish, and finishing with two coats of Flagship Premium Marine Wax. All of this will be accomplished with the PC.

My question:
    Does #67 usually break-down well enough for #45 to remove any surface dullness left behind, or is it more prudent to use an intermediate step with #44 Color Restorer between the two?

Anyone?

Comment

I wish I could help you here, but I know nothing about detailing a boat.

I'm sure Mike or someone else with some boat detailing knowledge will chime-in soon.

Welcome to the forum BTW!
      r. b.

Comment

Hi DWE,

I have not used this product before so I cannot speak from first-hand experience. (Honesty is the best policy right?)

I do know that it is a very aggressive cutting compound for exactly your application. Knowing this, and knowing that M45 Boat Polish is a non-abrasive pure polish, I'm going to guess that if your goal is a 100% swirl free finish, then you're going to want to re-polish the finish with a less aggressive product before going to wax.

One note, you do need to buff that product until you have completely broken all of the diminishing abrasive down before stopping the buffing process otherwise you will have deeper swirls in the finish.
        Mike Phillips
        760-515-0444
        showcargarage@gmail.com